Upavistha Konasana

Upavistha Konasana (oo-puh-VEESH-tah cone-AWS-ahna) or Seated Wide Angle Pose.

This is the root of my inner-thigh stretch that I do on my outdoor structure that I built (see: here ). If you could imagine two pegs in the ground holding my ankles in place, and a rope tied to a stake in front of me, then that is my inner-thigh stretch. I used to just clasp my hands in front of me, and lower my torso as far as it could go, but this week I added the rope so that I can begin pulling myself forward, for a more intensive stretch. Of course, I am always mindful of keeping my back straight, and my toes pointed upwards. I do not elevate my seat however; I am not sure if that will affect the stretch or not.

This entry was posted in Hatha Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

